Skip to Main Content


“Recognizing the achievements of the innovative companies who present to our community throughout the year is a key part of TC3.  I look forward to learning who our scouts will honor at our 2018 SPIFFY Awards.”

Linda Hull / Telecom Council 



Only promising companies and technologies are invited to present to the Telecom Council, and among these, some young companies stand out for their innovation, market opportunity, or quantifiable interest among the Council's 30+ global Service Providers including BT, T-Mobile, China Mobile, Orange, Reliance, Rogers, Sprint, Softbank, Swisscom, Tata, Telstra, Verizon, US Cellular and many other fixed and wireless carriers from Europe, Asia, and North and South America listed here.

Our SPIFFY Award Ceremony, held at TC3 Summit on Wednesday October 17th, marked the culmination of 12 months of rapid fire pitches, table top demos, and one-on-one meetings, and recognized the innovative companies our Service Provider Forum members who most impressed our Service Provider Forum members in the following categories:


This year's SPIFFY winners were selected by the carriers in Telecom Council's Service Provider Innovation Forum (SPIF) from among over 200 early-stage companies representing a broad range of communications products and services who presented to any Telecom Council Forum between September 2017 and August 2018. To be eligible for a nomination next year, you must present, pitch or demo your startup to one of our Forum meetings between now and Sept 1, 2019. Apply to speak online.


The Graham Bell Award for Best Communication Solutions awarded to VOICEBASE
Presented by Christina Claure, Sprint 

Telecom is really about helping people communicate, historically that has meant connecting one with another, but now can mean connecting many with many, or connecting people to machines. This award recognizes the company that advanced the noble cause of improving telecommunications.

The Edison Award for Most Innovative Start-Up awarded to DIGITALGENIUS
Presented by Hans Geerdes, Nokia 
Some ideas are so unusual they surprise you, but it's a small minority of these that are also likely to succeed. With this award, we recognize the startup that brings the most innovative ideas, but also the ability to successfully bring that idea to market.

The San Andreas Award for Most Disruptive Technology awarded to WHAT3WORDS
Presented by Christos Kolias, Orange 

This award is for the most game-changing startup to present to the Telecom Council. It is offered to the company whose progress is most likely to disrupt markets and change the way people do things.

The Zephyr Award for Best Mobile Opportunity awarded to VAPOR IO
Presented by Mark Sherman, Telstra 

This award recognizes the best investment opportunity within the mobile telecom sector that we've seen at the SPIF Meeting in the past year.

The Fred & Ginger Award for the Most Supportive Carrier awarded to ORANGE
Presented by Jan Soderstrom, Ericsson 
The winner of this award is chosen by the startups and entrepreneurs who have presented to the Telecom Council's Service Providers and awarded to the carrier who has been the most supportive, responsive, and helpful as those young companies develop their products and their businesses.


2017 SPIFFY Winners
Graham Bell Award: Sightcall
Edison Award: DataRPM
San Andreas Award: Veniam
Core Award: Datera
Zephyr Award: AtheerAir
Fred & Ginger Award: Telefónica

2016 SPIFFY Winners
Graham Bell Award: ThinkCX Technologies, Inc.
Edison Award: Peel
San Andreas Award: Loop AI Labs
Core Award: CUJO
Zephyr Award: Simless, Inc.
Ground Breaker Award: Atheer Inc
Prodigy Award: iControl Networks
Fred & Ginger Award: Telefónica

2015 SPIFFY Winners:
Graham Bell Award: Jolata
Edison Award: Indoor Atlas
San Andreas Award: Zimperium
Core Award: 1 Mainstream
Zephyr Award: Pradeo
Ground Breaker Award: Parstream
Prodigy Award: Kumu Networks
Fred & Ginger Award: Sprint

2014 SPIFFY Winners:
Graham Bell Award: Tarana Wireless
Edison Award: Kumu Networks
San Andreas Award: Connectem
Core Award: TRUSTID
Zephyr Award: SpiderCloud Wireless
Ground Breaker Award: Shared Spectrum Company
Prodigy Award: Mobile Iron
Fred & Ginger Award: British Telecom
Yellow Brick Award: Cisco
Sand Hill Award: Sequoia Capital

2013 SPIFFY Winners:
Graham Bell Award: Range Networks
Edison Award: SIGFOX
San Andreas Award: SmartThings
Core Award: 2600hz
Zephyr Award: Quixey
Ground Breaker Award: Jibe Mobile
Prodigy Award: Violin Memory
Fred & Ginger Award: Orange

2012 SPIFFY Winners:
Graham Bell Award: Blue Jeans Network
Edison Award: Plex
San Andreas Award: Bridgewave Communications
Core Award: Cloudscaling
Zephyr Award: Devicescape
Ground Breaker Award: Expertmaker
Prodigy Award: Ruckus Wireless
Fred & Ginger Award: Bouygues Telecom

2011 SPIFFY Winners:
Graham Bell Award: Aegis Mobility
Edison Award: Motally
San Andreas Award: AirHop Communications
Core Award: Lithium Technologies
Zephyr Award: BOKU
Prodigy Award: Swype
Fred & Ginger Award: Sprint

2010 SPIFFY Winners:
Graham Bell Award: Funambol
Edison Award: Lithium Technologies
San Andreas Award: Micro Power
Core Award: Edgewater Networks
Ground Breaker Award: Cooliris
Prodigy Award: 4Home
Fred & Ginger Award: Verizon Wireless

2009 SPIFFY Winners:
Graham Bell Award: Trutap
Edison Award: 4Home
San Andreas Award: Bling Software
Core Award: Brilliant Telecom
Zephyr Award: Bling Software
Ground Breaker Award: Morpho
Prodigy Award: 2Wire
Fred & Ginger Award: Swisscom

2008 SPIFFY Winners:
Graham Bell Award: Jajah
Edison Award: Loopt
San Andreas Award: Sling Media
Core Award: Adzilla
Zephyr Award: Obopay
Ground Breaker Award: Ruckus Wireless<
Prodigy Award: Sling Media
Fred & Ginger Award: British Telecom